Posted by: Justin Wallace | January 24, 2011

Why Campus Ministry? :: Dave Hershey

First, campus ministry tremendously impacted me as a student. I was already a Christian when I got to Penn State, but through Christian Student Fellowship I experienced community, went on a mission trip for the first time, was able to serve in various ways, and I found direction for the future. Many of my closest friends to this day are people I met in CSF. From firsthand experience I saw how campus ministry can affect people.

Second, God became man in Jesus Christ, coming to earth and going to where the people who needed help were. Ministry like that exhibited by Christ goes to people. I feel called to go to the campus, to surround myself with students and minister to their lives. College can easily be a place where students drift away from active faith. My goal is to be there to help them grow in Christ.

Finally, I believe that the Church needs Christians shining brightly in all fields from engineering to education, business to biology. I want to help students see college is not just about getting a job, it is about acquiring a vocation, serving Christ in whatever they do. Any work can be holy work.

*Today’s post, by Dave Hershey, is part of a blog series titled “Why Campus Ministry?“. Why do we give our lives to this profession, this people group, this thing called Campus Ministry? Why do we do what we do? What drives us? What keeps us going? Why college students? Why the University campus? Here’s the catch…each post must be 200 words or less. If you would like to submit an entry please email it to  justin [at] impactcharlotte [dot] com.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

