Posted by: Justin Wallace | January 18, 2011

Why Campus Ministry? :: Justin Wallace

I often sound like a broken record because I say these two statements over and over and over again. But, I believe them in the deepest parts of my being. These two statements drive me, excite me and remind me of why I do what I do.

The two statements are:

1. If we’re going to change the world it has to start with the college campus.

2. The future of the Church depends on whether or not we reach college students.

College students are the future leaders, writers, teachers, doctors, politicians, pastors, janitors, professors, inventors, mothers and fathers. Dean Trune would always remind us, “What becomes acceptable on the college campus will be acceptable in culture in 10 years.” They are the movers and the shakers. They are the shapers of the future. They are the creators of culture. If I can reach 10 college students, send them to 10 different places after graduation with the Gospel and they effect 10 people each…then the Gospel multiplies…the world changes.

In the same breath though…if we do not reach those 10 college students, they will still effect culture…just from in a different way. This is why the future of the Church depends on them. They are the future Church. They are the future elders and deacons. If we do not reach them then the Church will shrink and flutter along…if we do reach them then the Church will advance with great force.

Why do I do what I do?

Because college students have the potential to influence the entire world.

*Today’s post, by Justin Wallace, is part of a blog series titled “Why Campus Ministry?“. Why do we give our lives to this profession, this people group, this thing called Campus Ministry? Why do we do what we do? What drives us? What keeps us going? Why college students? Why the University campus? Here’s the catch…each post must be 200 words or less. If you would like to submit an entry please email it to  justin [at] impactcharlotte [dot] com.


Responses

  1. Right on. I just spoke at a church on Sunday saying the same thing. I love the strategy of what we do. We exist to “impact the world of tomorrow by impacting it’s leaders today.”

  2. I love it man! I love this idea! I can’t wait to read these response. I especially love you limited it to 200wrds

  3. You should add a link at the bottom each post back to the original post you had describing the series.

    • Good idea. I added a paragraph at the end of each post describing the series and linking to the tag “Why Campus Ministry?”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

