Posted by: Justin Wallace | September 7, 2010

A thank you goes a long way…

I have a folder on my desk that is titled encouraging notes. I also have a folder in my email box titled encouraging notes. And finally I always keep encouraging facebook messages.

Why?

Because sometimes ministry gets tough. Sometimes you get knocked around and you’re not sure if you want to get up.

Some days I’ll just happen upon an old encouraging email or note and it reminds me that God is up to something and that I should get going.

It’s so true…A thank you goes a long way. Paul encourages us, “Be thankful.” Most of the time I only that that means that I’m supposed to be thankful for God…but what if it also means that we are to be thankful and show thanks to those around us? Who knows how far a text to a student leader, that says, Thanks for all you do, could go. It might change they’re whole day. A thank you email/note/facebook message brightens my day…and I’m sure it does the same for others.

I wanted to share a couple of these notes with you. I know they’re written to me but I believe they’re encouragement to all of us in one way or another. I hope you find your self encouraged today…I pray you find the strength to grind it out one more day.

“So I just wanted to let you know that you are very very appreciated. I don’t think I’ve ever really told you how much your support/understanding means to me and I am so thankful for that. I promise I will never leave Impact, I love it way too much! God did a really good thing making you a pastor of this minstry, and I am really blessed to have been lead to you. If it weren’t for the challenges/standards you set for me, I wouldn’t be nearly as “awesome” as you think I am ;). So give yourself the credit. He’s doing some pretty awesome stuff in my life, and I’m so glad you get to be a part of it.”

“I wanted to let you know what a blessing impact has been to me this year. I was worried with going to college that finding a group of Christians I could really plug into would be hard but impact has been truly amazing. It helped with my transition into college, community group was always helpful and uplifting and i believe i have grown in my faith. Thank you for all you do and keep up the good work!”

“I just wanted to take the time to say thank you once again for a wonderful semester. I really appreciate all the time and effort you put in to Impact. It’s so awesome to reflect and see how I’ve been changed and how other lives have been altered by your ministry.”

Responses

  1. Thank YOU for this post, bro. This post, for me today, was encouraging but also challenging. My heart is encouraged, and my leadership is challenged.

    I will be sharing this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

