Posted by: PC | July 26, 2010

I Have a Confession – 4 in 1

Each one of us struggles with something that we wish we were already doing something about but we’re not. This is a series of posts by PC Walker, Joe Blanchard, Nathan Evans & Justin Wallace called I Have a Confession. We will be transparent about a few things we struggle with. We hope you enjoy and we hope you can relate. PC Walker will get us started…

“The great stumbling block in the way of some people being simple disciples is that they are so gifted they won’t trust God.” – Oswald Chambers


Many leaders have fallen prey to the temptation I frequently battle. Instilled with particular gifting, I can become dependent upon those gifts instead of the God who gave them to me.

Reality is that great leaders can form large churches and organizations without the help of God.

Let that statement sink in…allow yourself to get frustrated with me for writing it…

Now realize large does not mean healthy. Large does not mean growth. Large does not mean consecrated, holy, spirit-driven, or even good. It simply means large.

I have a tendency to recognize and even use the gifts God has given me to a dangerous degree in which I end up depending on the gift. I’ve taken my fair share of profiles, tests, and questionnaires to have a strong understanding of the gifts God has given me. The danger lies in the reality that I depend heavily on the gift instead of the God who gave me those gifts.

I am frequently challenged to avoid stifling my gifts…to thrive or seize opportunities to use those gifts, but I am not frequently enough challenged to depend on the Holy Spirit more than I depend on those gifts.

Of course, this is not only a lesson for leaders. We have all been given gifts, but we have to remember what it means to trust outrageously in God.

Perhaps I have too much to really need a Provider.
Perhaps I know too much to need a Counselor.
Perhaps I am too comfortable to need a Comforter.
Perhaps I know and do too much for God to be Sovereign.
Perhaps I am trying to save too many people to need a Christ.
Perhaps people seek me more than they do The Truth.
Perhaps I am too busy being the 4th person of the Trinity.

Perhaps I am depending too much on my gifts and not enough on the God who gives us our gifts.

Responses

  1. Justin, Thanks for the posting! I was teaching from 2 Corinthians 1 yesterday. I landed on this: “But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.” One, God will break me! Two, no matter how talented or gifted I am, I CANNOT raise the dead!


Leave a Reply

Categories

