Posted by: Justin Wallace | June 17, 2010

The Art of Failure :: part one

In 2004 I found myself kicked to the curb once again.

I had been fired from ministry twice in less than 2 years.

I was a failure. I was damaged goods. I was broken. I was ready to throw in the towel and move on to another career.

And Dean Trune with Impact Ministries International walked into my life.

He sat down with my wife and I at a Burger King in East Lansing, Michigan and we talked about failure, ministry, being hurt, mistakes and the future.

I’ll never forget what he said to me.

He said, “My favorite people to hire are those who have failed.”

I was shocked because I wasn’t even sure I would hire myself.

But, Dean has a way of seeing things differently than others. He sees potential where others may not. He sees hope where others see tragedy. He distributes love when others distribute judgement.

I learned something very quickly from Dean Trune.

There is an Art of Failure.

As long as you are a learner. As long as you have a teachable heart…Failure isn’t the end, failure is the beginning.

He told me I had a teachable heart and that he believed I could learn from my failure.

I have learned so much from my failures. So many failures! So much to learn!

Have you experienced epic failures?

When is the last time you failed?

Have you learned from your failures?

This is a great video about the importance of failure and The Art of Failure ::

Responses

  1. Wow. You made yourself vulnerable on this one. Thank you so much. And what a great tribute to Dean. I have failed so often in my life and ministry that I used to tell my staff that failure is normative success is an aberration. Maybe a bit of hyperbole there but I really believe that to succeed we must be unafraid of failure. More importantly though is that we be the kind of person you describe Dean as being: one who distributes love instead of judgment. Thank you for this thoughtful message, Justin.


Leave a Reply

Categories

