Posted by: Justin Wallace | March 1, 2010

Falling on Deaf Ears?

Sometimes I blog my confessions…confessing the frustrations that come with ministry.

This is yet another confession that you may be able to relate to.

Here’s my confession :: There are times when I am teaching, preaching, discipling, coaching, mentoring with my whole heart and I feel like it falls on deaf ears.

I feel like I’m speaking another language.

I feel like I’m speaking to a deer in head lights.

I feel like I’m wasting my breath.

I feel like I’m wasting my time and energy.

I feel like just throwing in the towel.

I think to myself, “What’s the point really?”

Anyone else ever feel this way?

If you do, you’re not alone. You’re not crazy. You haven’t lost your mind.

Don’t quit! Don’t give up! Persevere!

I want to encourage you with a parable that Jesus taught in Mark 4v1-28.

I have read this parable hundreds of times. But last semester something new caught my attention.

So many times I take responsibility for the growth, the response, of those receiving the seed that I am sowing.

But, Jesus never asked us to be responsible for the growth, the response, of those receiving the seed.

He asked us to simply sow the seed.

We are not responsible for knowing what type of heart it will fall on.

We are only responsible for being a light, preaching the Word, sowing the seed, proclaiming Truth.

I love verses 26-28 :: “This is what the kingdom of God is like. A man scatters seed on the ground. Night and day, whether he sleeps or gets up, the seed sprouts and grows, though he does not know how. All by itself the soil produces grain…

This removes so much pressure.

It removes so much responsibility.

I don’t have to hold the world on my shoulders.

Life-change isn’t dependent upon me.

I am only called to share the gift that God has given me…and then I release the listener to God. I allow God to be responsible for the growth, the response, the reaction.

This is hard for a control freak like me. I want to control the outcome. I want to control the response. I want to control the growth. I want to have a formula for success. I want to have a hold on why things happen the way they happen.

But, that’s not my job. It’s not my calling. It’s not my responsibility.

I’m only called to proclaim. Preach. Teach. Disciple. Encourage. Challenge. Be a light in the darkness.

I pray that this encourages you. I pray that when you feel like your message is falling on deaf ears that you won’t give up. You’ll keep teaching. You’ll keep proclaiming. You’ll keep following the call that God has placed on your life.

May God use you to bring His Kingdom to the world that you find yourself in. Do so with courage. Do so with passion. Do so with confidence…for God is using ordinary people like you and I to bring about extra-ordinary life-change.

Leave a Reply

Categories

